Constructing bibliodiversity project group

The Jussieu Call for Open science and bibliodiversity was published in early October 2017.

Read more
See less

With its eight recommendations, it claims that advances towards open science necessarily require support for the diversity of actors in scientific publishing – aka bibliodiversity – at all stages of the publishing workflow. This implies in particular the coexistence of various business models and excludes the domination of a single model. But time has come to work on the practical implementation of bibliodiversity and to take into account the diverse cultural and publishing practices prevailing among researchers, disciplines, institutions and countries. This can only happen at a European and international scale.

The creation of a project group entitled “Building Bibliodiversity” within the Committee for Open Science and directly under the responsibility and permanent monitoring of the Publications and International Colleges meets these two objectives. It will take advantage from the wealth of skills gathered within these two colleges and the committee as a whole, but also from the contribution of external expertise.

The duration of the mission of this project group is nine months and it will submit a final report on its work together with a shorter document of recommendations. This report will be presented during a CoSO Tech session with proposals for communication with the institutions and researchers. A bimonthly progress report will be made to the CoSOTech and the two colleges.

Group infos
Documents & productions
  • Identify principles and supporting criteria to channel investments into entities and platforms enabling open access, bibliodiversity, innovative publishing and shared development;
  • List national, European and international initiatives and infrastructures which foster Open Science based on these criteria (goal, type, status and hosting country) ;
  • Clarify the concept of Fair Open Access (potentially with a quantified evaluation) as "we" understand it (i.e. based on criteria like viability, sustainability, independence, stakeholder control, etc.);
  • Establish an operational funding system to support planned actions based on a foundation funded in part by savings made on subscriptions as a result of current and future negotiations;
  • Make an effective contribution in the international debate on bibliodiversity currently underway in Europe and Latin America in particular. This requires regular exchanges with open science stakeholders in these regions of the world. The group will develop partnerships to assess the diversity of academic contexts and cultures and take up opportunities to carry out joint projects to promote bibliodiversity at the international and foremost European levels.
9 mois
photo groupe projet
photo Jean-François Lutz
Responsable de la « bibliothèque numérique » de l’université de Lorraine
photo Jean-François Lutz
Jean-François Lutz
Responsable de la « bibliothèque numérique » de l’université de Lorraine

Jean-François Lutz, conservateur des bibliothèques, est responsable de la « bibliothèque numérique » de l’université de Lorraine.

En tant que membre du bureau professionnel de Couperin de 2006 à 2012, il a été initiateur et animateur du groupe de travail sur les archives ouvertes et chef de projet OpenAIRE pour la France. Il a également été membre du bureau de SPARC Europe de 2008 à 2014.

Il est actuellement membre du Comité de suivi de l’édition scientifique chargé de suivre et d’évaluer le plan de soutien à l’édition scientifique, ainsi que de mener des études.

  • Frédéric BOUTOULLE (Université Bordeaux-Montaigne)
  • Grégory COLCANAP (Université d'Evry)
  • Delphine COUDRIN (Université de Bordeaux)
  • Antonin DELPEUCH (Université d'Oxford)
  • Jean-Luc DE OCHANDIANO (Université Jean Moulin, Lyon 3)
  • Mamadou DIARRA (École des bibliothécaires, Dakar)
  • Erwin DREYER (Inra)
  • Thierry FOURNIER (Université de Rennes 1)
  • Julie GIOVACCHINI (Centre Jean pépin, CNRS)
  • Frédéric HÉLEIN (Université Paris Diderot, Institut de Mathématiques de Jussieu)
  • Doriane IBARRA (Ifremer)
  • Denis JÉROME (Académie des sciences, CNRS)
  • Jérôme KALFON (Couperin)
  • Benoît KLOECKNER (Université Paris-Est Créteil)
  • Isabelle LABOULAIS (Université de Strasbourg)
  • Jacques LAFAIT (Sorbonne Université)
  • Jean-François LUTZ (Université de Lorraine)
  • Gilles MARODON (Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Inserm)
  • François-Xavier MAS (Université Paris 13)
  • Jacques MILLET (Inria)
  • Patricia MIRABILE (Sorbonne université)
  • Christine OLLENDORFF (Ensam)
  • Marie PELLEN (OpenEdition)
  • Dominique ROUX (Université de Caen)
  • Éric TANNIER (Inria)
One suggestion, a question ?
Write and refer to committee for open science and its 200 experts.