About the Committee for Open Science

The Committee for Open Science works as a result of the political policy and national plan for open science presented by Frederique VIDAL, the Higher Education, Research and Innovation Minister on July 4th 2018, when speaking at the annual conference of the League of European Research Libraries (LIBER).

This plan proposes three main axes:

  • To generalize open access to publications,
  • To structure and make research data open,
  • To fully participate in a sustainable European and international dynamic.

The site ouvrirlascience.fr run by the Committee for Open Science accompanies and supports national measures. It is aimed at all actors who play a role in open science and all interested citizens. Its’ objective are:

  • to increase knowledge about open science,
  • to explain the challenges to be overcome to implement open science,
  • to increase awareness of the scientific, societal and financial issues at stake.

The site provides news, resources – founding texts, reports, studies, sites and databases – and a schedule of upcoming events which are linked to the three main components of the plan and cover all scientific disciplines.

The Committee for Open Science has succeeded the Digital Scientific Library (BSN2009-2017).